A drunk driving (DWI/DUI) charge is a serious legal matter that must be handled with care. A mistake in your legal defense could compromise your case, leaving you vulnerable to steep fines, driver’s license suspension and even incarceration.
People in East Texas who are serious about defending themselves turn to Biggs & Greenslade, P.C. Our attorneys are well-versed in successful DWI defense strategies and prepared to guide you to a favorable outcome.
There are many ways to approach a DWI case. We aggressively seek out the facts relating to the stop, arrest, and police investigation to expose weaknesses in the state’s case against our clients. In doing so, we ask important questions such as:
No matter how “open and shut” the police claim their case is, you are innocent until proven guilty in the eyes of the law. We will do everything in our power to help you keep your Texas driver’s license and avoid the harsh penalties of a DWI conviction.
In his tenure as assistant criminal district attorney, Kenneth Morgan Biggs tried over 100 cases to completion. As a DWI defense attorney today, he draws upon his experience to anticipate the tactics the prosecutors use against our clients.
Before making any statements to police or prosecutors, contact Biggs & Greenslade Law. We will provide you with a free consultation to discuss the details of your case and the options we have to deliver a solid defense.
In Texas, a DWI refers to operating a motor vehicle with the loss of the normal use of your physical or mental faculties as a result of the introduction of alcohol or drug into your body. The level of cognitive impairment is considered intoxication if your blood alcohol content is .08% or more. A DUI in Texas, on the other hand, is a charge reserved only for minors. A minor can be charged with a DUI if he or she has any traceable amount of alcohol in their system at all.
If you’ve been pulled over for a DWI and either failed or refused a chemical test, you have already experienced the first penalty—license suspension. In addition to losing your license for a period ranging from 90 days to 12 months, a first offense DWI in Texas is usually counted as a Class B misdemeanor. It comes with jail time ranging from 72 hours to six months and sometimes more depending on the circumstances. Usually a hefty fine is also imposed.
These penalties can be incredibly overwhelming, but an experienced lawyer can build a robust case that may reduce your charges or dismiss them altogether. As a former Assistant District Attorney, Kenneth Biggs is the knowledgeable attorney you need on your side when you face DWI charges.
Usually, a DWI conviction comes with a license suspension of at least 90 days, sometimes longer. However, occasionally the court will provide you with an occupational license, which enables you to drive to and from work, school, and other essential places. Attorney Kenneth Biggs will help you get your license back as quickly as possible.
Bail amounts for a DWI offense typically range from $500- $1500 depending on the circumstances. This may increase depending on the circumstances and whether this is the first, second, or third offense. As your attorney, Kenneth Biggs can help reduce your bail amount.
In Texas, drunk driving is not the only alcohol related offense you can commit. Below are a list of other crimes involving alcohol that may come with serious consequences:
If you face charges concerning any of these crimes, contact Biggs and Greenslade Law today to speak with an experienced attorney today.
Let us represent you and your family during these complicated and stressful times. Our dedicated and knowledgeable team can provide you with strong representation and actionable advice. If you are ready to schedule your free consultation, please fill out our request form or give us a call.